Teen Vogue took on white supremacy over Teen Choice Awards. We spoke to their editor about the decision.
Also, here are the donation links to the medical fund, UVA black student alliance and BLM chapter.
Tag: fairness
Here’s what really grinds my gears about Taylor Swift’s trial.
As a woman we are conditioned to almost expect this kind of behavior from men. So when a man grabbed Taylor’s ass, she didn’t go to the police (knowing the case was weak), she had him thrown out of the arena in Denver, CO and called his boss to inform them of how this man was representing KYGO.. She then gets blamed for his firing as if sexual assault isn’t a good enough reason to be fired. He then sues her for defamation of character in attempts to take money from her, nearly 4 million to be exact. Make no mistake his intentions in suing her was hoping she’d make a plea deal because she wouldn’t want or be able to sit through an eight day trial, which they maliciously extended by calling more witnesses than ever needed. But instead of taking the easy way out, she stood strong and counter sued for assault and battery, resulting in 1 dollar. It’s almost unheard of for a celebrity of her caliber to sit through this long of a trial. But damn I admire her for it. Because this guy has proven to be serious scum. He just wants money from her and I’m so fucking disgusted by this whole thing.
I’m disgusted by how a man assumes he has a right to a woman’s body.
I’m disgusted by how this man is blatantly trying to acquire money from her.
I’m disgusted by how the public is turning this into a fucking media circus and camping on the sidewalks like it’s a fucking concert. And taking her photo and treating this law suit over sexual assault like a fucking meet and greet.
And I’m so disgusted by how the media (FUCK YOU TMZ) leaked a SEALED PHOTO OF A SEXUAL ASSAULT AS IF ITS NO BIG DEAL BECAUSE IT IS TAYLOR SWIFT AND SHES NOT A PERSON I GUESS?? ?? Because if it was any other victim, there is a code within the media, and they wouldn’t post that shit or even their name.
And IM SO DISGUSTED WITH HOW SUDDENLY EVERY FEMINIST ON GODS GREEN MOTHER FUCKING EARTH IS SILENT WHEN A MAN GRABS A WOMAN BECAUSE THE WOMAN IS TAYLOR FUCKING SWIFT
FUCK THE WORLD YO
the president of nigeria is about to fuck boko haram up and cut his own salary in half and criminalized female genital mutilation
the president of guinea built/is building infrastructure and school and wells all over the country and is decreasing youth unemployment exponentially
the president of cote d’ivoire made school mandatory of children ages 6-16 and banned plastic bags while also building ultra modern trasportation infrastructure
the future is for real in africa
I think this should have a hell of a lot more notes on it than it does. This is what good news looks like folk, and the continent of Africa surely deserves a shed load of it.
Today (April 7th) is Remembrance Day for the Rwandan genocide. While Rwanda still faces challenges, their recovery has been incredible. They now have the highest percentage of women in parliament around the world (one of only two countries to have over 50% women), their gross national income has risen each year, and life expectancy has risen from 48 in 1990 to 65 in 2013.
lmao @ people saying “this is not america!!” because this IS america….. this country was literally built off of racism, genocide, and slavery so of course the hatred is gonna continue. stop trying to absolve america of its racially charged atrocities and hold it accountable for being oppressive to minorities since the dawn of its civilization
If you publicly and unreservedly condemn the actions of Nazis in Charlottesville and elsewhere, including everything from quiet hate speech to vehicular terrorism, can you please reblog this post.
I think a few friends, a few followers, every Jew who happens across this post and my own heart could do with knowing that there are more of you out there than there are of them
I know I was taking a little break to avoid all the stress of the Charlottesville rally being talked about on tumblr, but I also wanted to make sure all of my Jewish mutuals know how loved they are. I know this is scary and sometimes it feels like the only people looking out for us is ourselves, but know that you are not alone and have never been alone. We are one mishpacha, one family, and we will look after each other and keep each other safe like we always have. I love each and every one of you. Remember, the whole world is a very narrow bridge and the main thing is to have no fear at all.
Goyim, please reblog this instead of all the performative “punch a nazi” nonsense. Make your Jewish followers feel safe.
its not even a hundred years from WW2 where nazi ideology & white supremacy quite literally got millions of ppl systematically murdered, and some ppl still act like nazism is “just an opinion” and that “everyone’s entitled to an opinion” as if it was something akin to a favorite color or food preference instead of a violent, manipulative, dangerous propaganda
The waitress is the only one who recognizes Captain America.
The busy cafe is in a country far from America, and its Captain is in disguise—a dark beard cloaks his once-smooth cheek, sunglasses hide his bright eyes. But she serves his coffee, and she sees him, and she knows.
She is curious. As she adds a square of chocolate to his saucer, she murmurs, “What should we think here about this day in America, Steve Rogers?”
He seems startled, but doesn’t startle. Sits ramrod-straight, calm and ready. Cocks his head, curious. Perhaps he hasn’t heard.
She digs out her phone—shows him the news: the Twitter feed of pain and outrage, the news reports of chaos and death. For some minutes, he studies her screen.
“I think,” says Captain America, “That when you see a Nazi, you should punch that Nazi in the face.”
The waitress blinks. Times have changed since the Captain’s legendary youth forged in world war. Times are not so black and white, she thinks, but all the world is in a state of gray. “People say,” she says, halting, questioning, “People say that violence should not be used, even against those who call themselves Nazis—”
“Can’t imagine a situation I wouldn’t want to see settled peaceably,” says Captain America. “But some things never change. Some people don’t—they make sure their ideas’ll show up in every future. It’s our job to stop those people and their ideas. And that’s why if you see someone waving a Nazi flag and naming themselves a Nazi, you deal with them like we always have. Like I was made and trained to do. You punch them in the face, and you be sure to tell them it’s with regards from Steve Rogers.”
❤
bitch ass nazis
Condemn the issue or be the issue. Full stop.
Don’t pretend you don’t know why this is happening. Don’t try to make excuses for them. If you are not vocally and unequivocally against it then you are part of the problem.
Not all hockey fans are racist. In fact, most of us probably aren’t. But of all the team logos that could appear at a white supremacists demonstration, no one is really surprised that it’s from hockey. There’s a group of fans calling themselves the “Detroit Right Wings” marching through Charlottesville, VA with torches and shields bearing the Detroit Red Wings logo. The team has made a statement against it and is pursuing legal action but this isn’t going to change people’s minds. We’ve been dancing around this issue for decades: some NHL fans are racist and it’s time for it to stop.
Hockey is still thought of as one of the whitest sports. If you ask any average joe on the street to name a black football, baseball, or basketball player they’d have no problem. But hockey? Only about 50 active NHL players are of black, Asian, Latino, Arab/Middle Eastern, or Native American/First Nation (including 2017 first round draft picks). Willie O’Ree was the first black player to be called up the NHL by the Boston Bruins in 1958 – eleven years after Jackie Robison made headlines as the first African American MLB player. It wasn’t until 1982 that Val Jones became the first African American player in the NHL. Grant Fuhr was the first black player to win the Stanley Cup in 1984 with the Edmonton Oilers. He was also the first black player inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2003. The Hockey Hall of Fame was established in 1943 and it took sixty years for a black player to be inducted.
The league is taking steps to try to promote diversity with programs like Hockey is for Everyone but it isn’t enough. It is our responsibility as hockey fans to make the sport welcoming and safe for everyone. It doesn’t start with the league, it starts with us. It starts by saying that what is happening in Virginia and in other communities across North America is not okay and we will not accept it.
Hockey can and will be a sport where players and fans of any race, religion, gender, or orientation can feel safe and accepted and have fun. It can be because we will make it so. Hockey is not just for rich white boys. Love the sport. Grow the game. Know your history. Take no bullshit from anyone. Be part of the solution.