princess-flowers:

babyseraphim:

I always see people talking about how eating too little or forgetting to eat is a symptom of mental illness and therefore shouldn’t be judged, but I never see anyone say anything about how mental illnesses can drive people to overeat.

People with binge eating disorder exist.

People with ADHD who eat when they’re bored, and need something to do exist.

People with depression who comfort eat exist.

People with PTSD who overeat as a way to make themselves look unappealing, or as a way of comfort exist

People who overeat as a form of self harm exist.

We exist.

Because overeating and being fat is so harshly hated upon, no one wants to believe that fat people are struggling with mental illness; they just want to believe that fat people are lazy and refuse to change because they don’t want to.

We don’t owe you anything.

I had no idea that was a symptom of ADHD! I just thought I had no self control or something.

millatheshieldmaiden:

smitethepatriarchy:

I honestly don’t think anything could make me more livid than some rich white fucker saying that children shouldn’t be given free meals in school because they’re not creating “results.”

Fuck you. I don’t give one single fuck if food actually helps kids learn. The result I am looking for is that the child is no longer starving. Hunger is a problem in and of itself and you solve hunger with food. End of story. Also go fuck yourself.

It is not a person’s purpose in life to “create results”. People should have a high quality if life regardless of how much or how little results they create.

Not Knowing “Zio” is a Slur is an Indictment, Not a Defense

copperbadge:

littlegoythings:

The Chicago Dyke March, an alternative to Chicago Pride that is meant to have a more “social justice” orientation, caught a heap of bad press when it expelled several Jewish marchers for carrying rainbow Jewish pride flags featuring a Star of David on them. The march has defiantly resisted any and all calls to apologize, and insisted that it was only being “critical of Israel” (isn’t everything?).

Yesterday, it popped back into the antisemitism news beat by posting a tweet: “Zio tears replenish my electrolytes!” “Zio” is an antisemitic slur popularized by David Duke; even the milquetoast Chakrabarti Inquiry into antisemitism in Labour agreed it was a racist term (and St. Jeremy Corbyn himself agreed: “‘Zio’ is a vile epithet that follows in a long line of earlier such terms that have no place whatsoever in our party.”).

The March is defending itself from renewed antisemitism allegations by saying it “Definitely didn’t know the violent history of the term.”

They mean this as a defense. It’s actually an indictment. Let me explain why.

I’ll accept, for sake of argument, that the Chicago Dyke March did not “know” the term “Zio” was antisemitic. Nonetheless, the March almost certainly did not stumble across the term “Zio” by accident. It got it from somewhere, from sources it felt confident enough in that it felt comfortable emulating. In other words, one of the ways the Chicago Dyke March learned to speak about matters of Jewish concern was from people who think it is okay to toss around terms like “Zio.” The odds that everything else it learned about those matters from this same social network was magically uninfected by this obvious antisemitism is incredibly scant. It’s the thirteenth (or in this case fourteenth, or fifteenth, or seventieth) chime that calls into question the other twelve.

There are many places in this country where people grow up hearing racial slurs that they don’t “know” are derogatory – they’re “just what people say.” When they move into the wider world and use such terms, they sometimes claim ignorance – and in some sense, they might be right. But the implication of their apologia is that not that they are free from racism – far from it. It’s that they grew up in an environment where racism was so normalized that they didn’t even know how to recognize it. Such a situation demands some very hard work of unlearning, of radically questioning one’s own presuppositions and acknowledging that one needs to acquire substantial new information before one can feel confident in one’s ability to relate to the other group in an ethical manner.

But let’s give the Dyke March even further benefit of the doubt. Suppose they somehow magically stumbled upon “Zio” through entirely innocent means – nobody in their social network was using it, they came up with it all be their creative selves. Even still, all that would demonstrate is that they don’t know crucial information about a subject they nonetheless feel fully confident to opine on. Put another way, if they didn’t “know” that “Zio” was antisemitic, shouldn’t the next question be “what else don’t we know?”

I’ve long thought that the heart of oppression as a discursive practice is a perceived entitlement to talk about a group without knowing about the group. The Chicago Dyke March pleads ignorance about Jews and antisemitism, but that ignorance in no way dissipates their belief that they are absolutely entitled to talk about Jews and Jewish institutions however they want and be treated as credible and legitimate entrants to the discussion. It’s not a valid move. If you don’t know enough about Jews or antisemitism to know that “Zio” is an antisemitic term, then you don’t know enough to be confident that any of your other opinions about Jews or antisemitism are worthwhile.

The Dyke March, in short, wants the innocence of ignorance without the responsibility. It wants to be able to say, on the one hand, “we didn’t know that this term we used was a prominent antisemitic slur”, while on the other hand it equally wants to say “we do know that in all other cases everything else we’ve said or done vis-a-vis Jews is entirely above-board and not antisemitic.” They can only have the first if they’re willing to disturb the second.

A follow-up to the earlier discussion on my tumblr about the Dyke March and the Jewish Pride flags. 

Not Knowing “Zio” is a Slur is an Indictment, Not a Defense

In Victory for Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, Court Finds That Approval of Dakota Access Pipeline Violated the Law – THE INDIGENOUS AMERICAN

bat-machete:

climateadaptation:

Update on that Dakota Pipeline controversy. 

A federal judge ruled that the federal permits authorizing the pipeline to cross the Missouri River just upstream of the Standing Rock reservation, which were hastily issued by the Trump administration just days after the inauguration, violated the law in certain critical respects.

In a 91-page decision, Judge James Boasberg wrote, “the Court agrees that [the Corps] did not adequately consider the impacts of an oil spill on fishing rights, hunting rights, or environmental justice, or the degree to which the pipeline’s effects are likely to be highly controversial.” The Court did not determine whether pipeline operations should be shut off and has requested additional briefing on the subject and a status conference next week.

July 16-18, 2017

In Victory for Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, Court Finds That Approval of Dakota Access Pipeline Violated the Law – THE INDIGENOUS AMERICAN

systlin:

carolinemathildes:

another thing that is amazing about Wonder Woman that I haven’t heard anybody bring up is that the two strongest Amazons are both played by women in their 50s. Which is NOT old, but in Hollywood years they’re like seniors on their death beds. Once women reach a certain age, they stop getting action roles like that; if WW had been made by a dude, 100 percent Hippolyta and Antiope would have been played by women like 5 years older than Gal.

And they have wrinkles and grey hairs and are still absolutely friggin gorgeous and badass

deadcatwithaflamethrower:

spikedluv:

grumpsaesthetics:

humanrightscampaign:

Donald Trump Announces Ban on Transgender Troops Including 15,000 Actively Serving

SHAMEFUL. This harms military readiness and puts lives at risk. There are more than 15,000 active serving transgender troops. Threatening 15,000 currently serving troops who put their lives at risk is unpatriotic and dangerous.

from Joshua Block (ACLU attorney):

and here’s the ACLU’s official statement:

This is an outrageous and desperate action. The thousands of transgender service members serving on the front lines for this country deserve better than a commander-in-chief who rejects their basic humanity.

Let us be clear. This has been studied extensively, and the consensus is clear: There are no cost or military readiness drawbacks associated with allowing trans people to fight for their country. The president is trying to score cheap political points on the backs of military personnel who have put their lives on the line for their country.

There is no basis for turning trans people away from our military and the ACLU is examining all of our options on how to fight this. For any trans service member affected by today’s announcement: Please get in touch with us, because we want to hear from you. [x]

if you want to support trans people serving in the military, please consider donating to the ACLU. as mentioned in their official statement, their examining all options on how to fight this ban. 

also, to all the people on tumblr today that responded to this blatantly transphobic ban with some snarky edgy response about how denying trans people entry to the military is a ‘good thing’, because ‘the military is bad anyways’: fuck you

He is a disgusting, despicable person.

Boosting for the ACLU’s message, as I know peeps who are serving and deserve better.